Radical Lent – Week 1

Did I get your attention?

Admittedly, even I wasn’t sure what I was doing when I officially began this campaign last Wednesday.  That morning, I walked past the Super 8 down the street from my office more slowly than usual.  I glanced at the cars parked by the entrance.  I observed the trucks resting along the periphery of the parking lot.  Should I note the license plates?  Should I check back in a couple of hours to see who’s still there?  I spent that whole first day wondering if this was how He wanted me to do this.

By Thursday I realized the answer was No.

I watched a recently-aired episode of Our America about sex slavery in the States and knew that the fieldwork was best left to the professionals.  This is a complicated, layered and very dangerous issue, one I wouldn’t dare assume myself equipped to dive into.  So I’m getting educated about the phenomenon, finding out what different people, agencies and governments are doing about it, deciding who I will support (and how), and sharing it all with you.

Check out this TED talk by Kevin Bales, co-founder of Free The Slaves and author of “Ending Slavery: How We Free Today’s Slaves”:

Leave a Reply

